Get help now Make a donation

Human Rights Act 1998

A general guide to the Human Rights Act, with information about your human rights and what you can do if someone doesn't respect them.

What are my rights under the Human Rights Act?

In total, there are 16 rights set out in the Human Rights Act, which are listed below. The articles which are particularly important to people with mental health problems are linked to more information:

This information was published in January 2020.

This page is currently under review. All content was accurate when published. 

References are available on request. If you would like to reproduce any of this information, see our page on permissions and licensing.

arrow_upwardBack to Top