Styleguide FOR mind.org.uk

Publishing the content

This guidance is for content producers and content approvers. It explains how we publish approved content on our website, and what needs to happen after publication.

Once we're satisfied that a page can be published, we make the content live on the website and plan for its future.

If you're producing content that's going to date after a certain period of time, make sure that you set a reminder to go back and change it on the day it expires.

Publishing and unpublishing event pages

Once an event has taken place it's important that we unpublish and delete it, so we don't confuse our users or end up with loads of out of date pages across the site. This is the process we follow, to make sure people and search engines have access to the right information at the right time

  1. We publish an event page for an upcoming event.
  2. The events team set a reminder to revisit the event page on the next working day after the event has happened.
  3. The event takes place.
  4. At the end of that day, the event page automatically drops off the event listing page.
  5. On the next working day, the events team update the existing event page. They remove any registration links and add a dynamic content block with a message explaining to users that the event has passed and that details of and registration for the next edition will be published on the site when available.
  6. Until we can publish a new event page for the next edition, users can find the past event page via search engines and will see the note about the next edition.
  7. When it's possible, the events team create the event page for the next edition and submit it for approval and publishing. They include a comment in the workflow in Umbraco saying that the past event page now needs to be redirected and removed.
  8. The content approver checks and publishes the new event page.
  9. A technical specialist adds a redirect from the past event page to the current event page.
  10. A technical specialist unpublishes and deletes the past event page – it is no longer needed in the system.